top of page

The Number 19

For you fellow writers out there, I am sure you are familiar with what I got to experience this past week, that churning, visceral, exciting, adrenaline-soaked, bleary-eyed drive that takes a novel over the finish line. I had one of those enjoyable days of writing when you are so close to the end that you just cannot stop, and then you look up, and seven hours have passed.

Was this merely a long-winded way of bragging about finishing my nineteenth novel?

Yes. Yes, it was.

Speaking of long-winded, should I also be taking some pride in the fact that I managed to keep a book under 125,000 words?

Reunion is my first real foray into the horror genre in novel form (some short stories have fallen into that genre), which is odd as I generally enjoy reading horror (supernatural suspense more than people's guts falling all over the place). I'm putting it away for a little while, letting it rest before I cut into it with the editor's knife.

So, what comes next? I think I am going to dive into the world of Miraval once again as the first of the the three planned pentalogies is only a book away from being done. I already have a few chapters done and could maybe wrap it up by July if I am feeling it.

Onward.


bottom of page